The member associations eligible to participate in the CONCACAF Nations League


The CONCACAF Nations League is a biennial international football competition organized by the Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF). It was introduced in 2019 as a replacement for friendly matches and serves as a qualifying tournament for the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Here are some key details about the CONCACAF Nations League:

Format: The tournament consists of three leagues: League A, League B, and League C. Each league is further divided into groups. The number of teams in each league and group varies.

Promotion and Relegation: At the end of each edition, teams can be promoted or relegated based on their performance. The top teams in each group of League A qualify for a final four playoff to determine the Nations League champion.

CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualification: The Nations League also serves as a qualifying competition for the CONCACAF Gold Cup. The top teams from each group in League A earn a spot in the Gold Cup.

Participating Teams: The Nations League includes national teams from all across the CONCACAF region, which comprises North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. Some prominent teams participating in the tournament include the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Honduras, Canada, and Panama.

Significance: The CONCACAF Nations League provides teams with competitive matches and an opportunity to improve their FIFA rankings. It also offers smaller nations a chance to face stronger opponents and gain valuable experience.

The inaugural edition of the CONCACAF Nations League took place in 2019-2020, with the United States winning the League A championship. The tournament has since continued, with subsequent editions scheduled to take place every two years.

It’s important to note that since my knowledge cutoff is in September 2021, there may have been updates and changes to the CONCACAF Nations League structure or results. For the most up-to-date information, it is recommended to refer to official CONCACAF sources or reputable sports news outlets.

Here is a list of the member associations eligible to participate in the CONCACAF Nations League:

  1. North American Member Associations:
    • Canada
    • Mexico
    • United States
  2. Central American Member Associations:
    • Belize
    • Costa Rica
    • El Salvador
    • Guatemala
    • Honduras
    • Nicaragua
    • Panama
  3. Caribbean Member Associations:
    • Anguilla
    • Antigua and Barbuda
    • Aruba
    • Bahamas
    • Barbados
    • Bermuda
    • Bonaire
    • British Virgin Islands
    • Cayman Islands
    • Cuba
    • Curaçao
    • Dominica
    • Dominican Republic
    • French Guiana
    • Grenada
    • Guadeloupe
    • Guyana
    • Haiti
    • Jamaica
    • Martinique
    • Montserrat
    • Puerto Rico
    • Saint Kitts and Nevis
    • Saint Lucia
    • Saint-Martin
    • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
    • Sint Maarten
    • Suriname
    • Trinidad and Tobago
    • Turks and Caicos Islands
    • U.S. Virgin Islands

These national teams can participate in the CONCACAF Nations League and compete for promotion, qualification to the CONCACAF Gold Cup, and ultimately the Nations League championship.

It’s worth noting that while these member associations are eligible to participate, not all of them may currently have teams competing in the CONCACAF Nations League. Participation may vary from edition to edition based on factors such as qualification and team readiness.

 Argentina defeats Australia, 2-1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *